Junior and Senior Boys compete in House Music Competition Final

Junior and Senior Boys compete in House Music Competition Final

This year’s Boys House Music competition final took place on Wednesday.

The guest adjudicator was Mr Andrew Davies, Director of Music at St Bede’s College, Manchester.

All the finalists had progressed from the preliminary round of the House Music Competition which took place earlier in the term.

Forty two boys representing each of the four School Houses played music of various styles, from modern pop songs to classical music and musical theatre.

The standard of performance in the final was extremely high and all categories were very competitive, with one being so close that Mr Davies, the adjudicator, picked joint winners.

In summing up at the end of the day, he remarked on the high standard and variety of performances presented by BGSB students and said we should all be very proud.

Performances of note included Rhys Seddon’s vocal medley which brought an element of humour to the afternoon, modifying his song lyrics to include reference to Jay Broadhurst and Dominic Ferguson who competed on two instruments in one category.

A special mention should also go to the overall Junior and Senior Young Musicians of the Year, Dominic Ferguson and Dan Pockney.

The final was an enjoyable event, with all competitors showing great support for the others. Everybody was delighted to welcome back Mr Benger, who provided piano accompaniment.

We would like to thank him as well as Mr Andrew Davies for adjudicating, and Miss Downing, ably assisted by senior music prefects Jonathan Saab and Rhys Seddon, for organising the competition.

A list of all the winners and contestants are below


Dominic Ferguson


Dan Pockney

Junior Woodwind

Dominic Ferguson (winner)

Frank Lowery

Senior Woodwind

Henry Batchelor (winner)

Junior Percussion

Josh Isherwood (winner)

Ayo Dare

Senior Percussion

Dan Pockney (winner)

Daniel Robinson (winner)

Dylan Woods

Alex Bringloe

Junior Strings

Dan Stevens (winner)

Alex El-Jouzi

Mohsin Younis

Frank Lowery

Senior Strings

Ethan Daniel (winner)

Isaac Millar

Jay Broadhurst

Junior Brass

Dominic Ferguson (winner)

Arran Kirk

Louie Hammond

Oliver Jones

Junior Piano

Henry Hinchliffe (joint winner)

Ben Balshaw-Turner (joint winner)

Dachi Adamia

Louie Hammond

Jack Evans

Maximilian Postlethwaite

Senior Brass

Adam Penlington (winner)

Joseph Atkinson

Junior Voice

Josh Isherwood (winner)

John Vernon

Callum Horrocks

Will Short

Senior Piano

Kofi Teshola (winner)

Alex Thompson

Chris Gill

Ben Power

Junior Composition

Ben Balshaw-Turner

Louie Hammond

Senior Voice

Dan Pockney (winner)

Jack Hyde

Juba Lawal

Jonathan Saab

Will Mau

Jay Broadhurst

Rhys Seddon


Senior Composition

Dan Pockney (winner)

Joseph Atkinson

Jonathan Saab

Rhys Seddon